MA & PA Overpass

These abutments supported the York Road plate girder bridge of the defunct Maryland and Pennsylvania Railroad.

The Overpass was rebuilt by the Baltimore & Lehigh Railroad in 1900 as an upgrade from a previous narrow gauge track.

Reorganized formally on February 12, 1901, the railroad became affectionately known as the “Ma and Pa.” It covered a circuitous 77 mile route between Baltimore, Maryland and York, Pennsylvania.

Railroad service was officially abandoned in June 1958, due to greatly reduced traffic and deteriorating bridges and trackage.

The overpass was removed in 1959.

Historic Towson, Inc.

[The Baltimore County Landmarks List BA-1542 (2006)]

The Maryland & Pennsylvania Railroad bridge abutments are all that remain of the last bridge at this site spanning York Road, built by the Baltimore & Lehigh RR in 1900. In 1901, the B & L and the Lancaster Southern railroads merged to form the Maryland and Pennsylvania RR Company. Towson’s freight and passenger railroad facilities were one block west of the York Road bridge, on the south side of Susquehanna Avenue. A commemorative plaque was installed on the face of the western abutment by Historic Towson, Inc. in May, 1999. The abutments are the last structural remnants of Towson’s only rail link with the nation. They serve as distinctive examples of railroad bridge engineering and are good examples of the work of a master stonemason.

Continue up the west side of York Road and find the marker about the Towson Library branch of the Baltimore County Public Library.

Share This!